You are here

This qualification is the same as the Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training but provides the opportunity to take all optional units in one of the following specialist pathways:

  • Teaching English (Literacy)
  • Teaching English (ESOL)
  • Teaching English (Literacy and ESOL)
  • Teaching Mathematics (Numeracy)
  • Teaching Disabled Learners.

You must have a minimum of 100 hours of practice; 50 of which must be in the chosen specialist area.

This qualification is suitable for individuals who:

  • want to spend part of their course developing skills in teaching English (literacy and/or ESOL), mathematics (numeracy) or teaching disabled learners by taking all their optional credit in one specialist pathway
  • want the opportunity to explore underpinning theories, frameworks and research into effective teaching and learning in both their vocational area and a specialist pathway
  • are currently teaching and want to have their experience and practice accredited
  • are not currently teaching but can meet the minimum teaching practice requirement of 100 hours
  • are able to undertake a large qualification, lasting one to two years.


If you want to explore the routes to get into Further Education teaching visit the Teach in Further Education website.